94

pelican under the sun

What was once so vivid
So clear, so sharp
Has morphed into soft corners
With greys, with blues

Today’s life is not punctuated
With edges or details
Rather, motion and halos
Catch my attention

It’s a quieter time
But that’s as it should be
For I have left my footprints in the sand
And it’s the memories of other times
That fill my days

And I am content to remember
That the world has been nudged
Into a sweeter place
Because of my days here

Yet my dance is not done
Do not suppose I sit, unaware,
While others shape my world
To their specifications
My world is mine
I am endurance

8 thoughts on “94

  1. What a beautiful tribute to those we love who are real “seniors.” Can I share this with our beloved 94 year old? I think she would be absolutely thrilled!

  2. Mrs Bushranger – I love this, you wrote so beautifully about a special person in your life. How lucky you are to know them. What an inspiration they are.
    I wonder how our lives would be if we asked ourselves whether “the world has been nudged / Into a sweeter place / Because of my days here” ? We should ask this often.
    Amanda xx

  3. It’s a quieter time
    But that’s as it should be

    These words really struck me as I read your latest poem. Something for me to remember as I continue to explore the new opportunities that have been given to me. \V/

Leave a Reply

