Today’s Friend

goodbye

Together, there is that ease of company
That casual glance
That speaks of understanding
Without the need for explanation
Of shared, hidden laughs
Of acceptance without worry
Knowing, but uncaring, of the warts

Will all that disappear
As I say ‘goodbye’
And turn the page
Where today’s friend
Becomes relegated to yesterday’s news
Of interest
But no longer critical
And that piece of ‘me’
I see reflected in her eyes
Grows dull with distance and time

It’s the potential for ‘forever’
That causes the ache
The hollowness that burns
That chokes the hours preceding
That haunts the evenings after
The possibility that what is today
Will never be again

When I say “goodbye”
Do I lose a piece of ‘me’?

Leave a Reply

