Regrets

regrets

Yesterday’s choice
Is a distraction…a ‘red herring’
That tries to pull my consciousness
Away from today…away from now

Into rabbit-holes and switchbacks
Full of remorse and self-doubt
Taking me farther away
From where I want to be tomorrow

Yes, there are lessons to learn from yesterday
Yes, it helped shape me into who I am…put me where I am
…but…

In reality, yesterday’s choice is irrelevant
For it is gone — you can’t go back
It cannot be remade
 
Dwelling, ruminating, reviewing, finger-pointing
What a waste of time!

18 thoughts on “Regrets

  1. Amen to that!!! I have also learned that there are some questions that have no answers. They just remain that way and have to be accepted.

Leave a Reply

