Tomorrow’s Seduction

today

Stretching, reaching
Just past my fingertips
Tomorrow was taunting me
“Look at me…hasten to me”
I clawed towards its seductive sparkle
Glimmering in the distance

Like the fabled rainbow and its pot of gold
As I quested for tomorrow
It kept slipping into the distance

To my sorrow
I focused on ‘the future’, and ‘the now’ slipped away
No longer an option
Never to be recovered

Today was my choice
Brimming with potential
So many unrealized memories
Waiting to be fondled, caressed over time

But grasping for tomorrow
Those memories were never triggered…stillborn
Instead, I collected a muddled blur of wannabes
And the dull ache of missed opportunities

Today is real…I won’t lose it by ogling tomorrow

8 thoughts on “Tomorrow’s Seduction

Leave a Reply

