Dreaming

little truck

Under the pine boughs I waited
Fairy lights and tinsel twinkling above me
Knowing that once he saw me
He would love me…
…and he did.

His eyes sparkled as he held me
Together we explored the nooks and crannies
With a push I went barreling down into adventures
Unimagined, glorious
Through mud, through air, off precipices, dangling above the world
Always to be returned to his sticky fingers

Glowing with triumph
Till that day
When all stopped

He looked up to see another
One shinier, faster, a mystery he needed to explore

And I was left
Marooned at the impact of my last adventure
Dreaming of childhood glory
Beneath the pine boughs

7 thoughts on “Dreaming

Leave a Reply

