The Wolf

 wolf cropped

My song joins with the hum of the stars and the rush of the wind through the trees.
I sing of the joy of my hunt, the taste of the cold air on my tongue, the scent of my prey beyond the hill.
I sing of my pack’s warm rumble of contentment, my mate’s perfume of interest, my cubs’  milky sigh.
My song blends in perfect harmony to the rhythm of the universe.

The red wolf is one of the world’s most endangered canids. It was designated as an endangered species in 1967. Today, it is believed that there are only 100-120 red wolves left in the wild.*

…there is nothing more free, more joyful, more uplifting than to “howl at the moon”!

*http://www.defenders.org/gray-wolf/basic-facts

http://www.wolf.org/wolves/

*http://www.fws.gov/redwolf/

12 thoughts on “The Wolf

  1. May the red wolf be saved from extinction!

    SoundEagle loves your image of the wolf and the poem:

    My song joins with the hum of the stars and the rush of the wind through the trees.
    I sing of the joy of my hunt, the taste of the cold air on my tongue, the scent of my prey beyond the hill.
    I sing of my pack’s warm rumble of contentment, my mate’s perfume of interest, my cubs’ warm, milky sigh.
    My song blends in perfect harmony to the rhythm of the universe.

    SoundEagle would like to share with you something similar at http://soundeagle.wordpress.com/2012/10/02/if-my-name-were-moon-tonight/.

  2. What a beautiful painting! The red wolf…didn’t know he is also on the endangered species list. I particularly loved your use of color…very subtle. He also appears to be camouflaged by the tree. Well done…and well worth the wait!

  3. Pingback: Tell North Carolina: Defend Red Wolves | Sunset Daily

  4. Pingback: Puzzle | What Do Ya' Reckon?

Leave a Reply

