For The Ride of Your Life

county fair

Buckle up, ‘cause life is one big county fair
Ride that coaster, hands up if you dare
For you, a great price – no ticket required
All that you’ve longed for, reached for, desired
That coveted gold ring, that sweet arcade prize
It stretches our reach and makes our hope rise

To challenges unlooked-for, so many unsought
Like wandering through the funhouse we’re caught
With mirrors reflecting so many false ways
We’re dazzled and stumble and wander for days
Learning to muddle through, finding the skills
To navigate strange paths, avoiding cold spills

To emerge at the apex, after that struggling climb
To look back and view all we learned, and we find
That growth snuck up on us, we’re better, stronger
Secure in our skills, a victim no longer
We embarked on this ride so reluctantly
Survived wonders and frights, and exited proudly

I don’t think that I asked to ride on this ride
But now that I’m here, I’m glad that I tried
And how lucky I am, on my feet I did land
For the one who cares most surely gave me a hand
I would never choose to drink from that cup
But I’m stubbornly glad that I didn’t give up

2 thoughts on “For The Ride of Your Life

  1. Do you know the song “The Circle Game?” I think it was sung by Joni Mitchell. It would be very fitting in this blog. The chorus is something like “And the seasons they go round and round. The painted ponies go up and down. We’re captive on a carousel of time. We can’t return we can only look behind from where we came…and go round and round and round in the circle game.” Looking forward to seeing the completed watercolor.

Leave a Reply

