No Snow White

apple

Mirror mirror on the wall
When I hear my Maker’s call
Will I stroll with knowing grin
Past the sign with “This Way In”
Or will I maybe hesitate
When I face that pearly gate
“Tell me girl, have you been good?”
St Pete would query, as he should
“Have you done all that you could
To make the world less bad, more good”

I gulp and say, “I never will
Injure, steal or even kill
I didn’t hurt and didn’t lie
So, please, St Pete, could I go by?”
Pete looked and said, “No, not today
For entrance here, there is no way,
True, you’re not the Wicked Queen
But, like the woodsman, you have seen
Evil done, and stood aside,
To let that evil walk right by.

He did not say, ‘I will not do
The killing that you want me to’
Instead he took that hand so fair
Into the wood and left her there
He did not then the Queen decry
‘She is evil, let’s put her by!’
Instead he let the evil stand
Closed his eyes, closed his hand
To the opportunity
To help the whole community

So you see”, said St Pete
“Although you didn’t lie or cheat
So have you, just stood by
With muffled voice, no hue and cry
No active part did you play
To make today a better day
So my dear, please say goodbye
No sweet gates for you, when you die.”
He was right, I could not win
A better soul, I should have been…

4 thoughts on “No Snow White

  1. Excellent passage:
    So you see”, said St Pete
    “Although you didn’t lie or cheat
    So have you, just stood by
    With muffled voice, no hue and cry
    No active part did you play
    To make today a better day

Leave a Reply

