Lost Majesty

in the distance

I come from a land with trees….lots of big trees. They are tall, and strong, and inspirational.

NJ trees 1 NJ trees 2

….but not so much today.  The terrible weather events in October/November 2012 have had their way with them.

fallen4 fallen5

This part of the world is normally so beautiful.

fallen7

The tragedy of Hurricane Sandy continues in the northeastern part of the US. Those beautiful trees that have stood for hundreds of years, have been significantly damaged. Row upon row of these witnesses to American history (these pictures were taken near Washington’s Headquarters at Jockey Hollow, New Jersey*) have been ripped out of the ground or broken in two, awaiting removal to the local dump.

… As I walk the streets of my childhood, I mourn the loss of these majestic sentinels… my heart breaks…

*http://www.nps.gov/morr/index.htm

4 thoughts on “Lost Majesty

  1. You certainly captured the sentiments of all of us in this area. I think we are all still in disbelief that such destruction could have happened and that the reminders of the disaster are still so prevalent. I forwarded this on to Dave, Dan and Mike. Thanks for the blog post and reflecting on a sad moment in our town’s history.

  2. First off I would like to say fantastic blog! I had a quick question in which I’d like to ask if you don’t mind.
    I was curious to find out how you center yourself and clear your head before writing.
    I have had a hard time clearing my thoughts in getting my thoughts out there.
    I do take pleasure in writing however it just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes are generally lost simply just trying
    to figure out how to begin. Any recommendations or hints?
    Thank you!

    • Hi…for me, all I need to do is go “outside”. What I do is find fresh air. It doesn’t matter if it’s raining, if it’s freezing, if it’s sweltering…as soon as I get outside I hear more… I breath more deeply…I feel the breeze on my skin…There are so many more sensations, and they start itching to be expressed through my fingertips. That’s what works for me…I hope it helps.

Leave a Reply

