Sisters

sisters

Have you seen the 1954 musical, “White Christmas”?* …it is a holiday favorite, so if not, you probably should since you’re going to hear the title song over and over during the next few weeks.

Anyway, that’s not the song I want to talk about; there’s another song in the movie called “Sisters.” In the song, Rosemary Clooney and Vera-Ellen sing about what it means to be sisters.  It’s a very cute song (even cuter when Bing Crosby and Danny Kaye mime it ‘in drag’ later in the movie). “Sisters” – take a look:

“Two different faces, but in tight places, you think and you act as one.” I know that’s true – my mother says that my sister and I are two sides of the same coin (which doesn’t make any sense to me, but I understand it completely…which is kind of scary). My sister and I approach life from two very different directions (which happens to be one of our strengths). We lean on each other, confide in each other, and occasionally frustrate each other, but we both know that we will always “have each others’ backs”. We know each other, inside and out.  That’s what it is to have/be a true sister. …and I count it as one of the greatest blessing in my life.

…by the way, you don’t need to share DNA to be true sisters, although that IS how my sister and I are connected…

*http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/White_Christmas_%28film%29

http://www.songlyrics.com/berlin-irving/sisters-lyrics/

4 thoughts on “Sisters

  1. What a terrific blog entry! Nothing will come between “me and my sister…” Absolutely loved it. I had to go on the blog website in order to listen to the song. For some reason, it doesn’t allow you to open the song when it comes through as an email. And yes, White Christmas is one great classic! Thanks for the kind holiday thoughts! And no, you’re right, it didn’t make me cry…but pause and reflect on how very lucky we both are to have one another!!!

Leave a Reply

