I Danced On His Feet

I danced on his feet…he told me to place my small feet on his…he held my hands and gently moved to the rhythm of the foxtrot.

If I couldn’t see, he would lift me up in his strong arms and place me on his shoulders…and I could see the world.

He would take my hands and twirl around and around…my feet would lift off the ground and I would be flying.

From him I learned the meaning of trust, of stability, of faith. My life was shaped not only by his expectations of me but by my desire to be worthy of those expectations and his love. He never asked me to do more than I was able but he always expected me to give it my best.

He gave me the foundation I needed to make my path through the world.

…and I could, and still can, always make my dad smile.

2 thoughts on “I Danced On His Feet

Leave a Reply

