Feelin’ Groovy

The year was 1966. Simon and Garfunkel, an easy-listening folk-rock duo, came out with a song called “The 59th Street Bridge Song”. Do you remember the song? Maybe you’ll remember it by its other name – “Feelin’ Groovy”?

Can you think of a song that is better able to make you smile? Forget the fact that Paul Simon’s and Art Garfunel’s voices were just as light and happy as bird song on a summer breeze (wait a minute, that’s a different song all together….I’ll get to Seals and Crofts some other time), but the rhythm and sway of the tune itself is enough to make you want to stick your hands in your pockets and whistle along (and you know how much I love to whistle….).

Remember the words? Here, let me help you….

“Slow down, you move too fast


You got to make the morning last


Just kicking down the cobblestones


Looking for fun and feelin’ groovy


Ba da da da da da da, feelin’ groovy


Hello, lamppost, what’cha knowin’?


I’ve come to watch your flowers growin’


Ain’t’cha got no rhymes for me?


Doot-in doo-doo, feelin’ groovy


Ba da da da da da da, feelin’ groovy


I got no deeds to do


No promises to keep


I’m dappled and drowsy and ready to sleep


Let the morning time drop all its petals on me


Life, I love you


All is groovy” *

…if I have just made you smile, then I’ll count this as a successful blog entry…..

….la-da-da-da-da-da, feelin’ groovy…

* my thanks to http://www.simonandgarfunkel.com/us/music/parsley-sage-rosemary-and-thyme/59th-street-bridge-song-feelin-groovy for the lyrics of ’59th Street Bridge Song

10 thoughts on “Feelin’ Groovy

  1. Hi LynnAnne!
    It’s Cassidy! Grandma was just showing me your blog and I loved “felling groovy?”!! The pictures were great and you can count it as a successful blog because I was smiling at the first picture! I hope to see you soon! Love ya!!

      • Hi Cassidy,
        Welcome to my blog! I’m so glad you liked it. By the way, did you read my “String of Pearls” entry. I mention a story about your Dad in there. I hope you’re having lots of fun. luv ya

Leave a Reply

